On a Tight Budget

So how many Billions are we in debt now? It doesn’t feel that sore from where I’m sitting…head down in the bus lane!!
Talking of that…I’ve just signed up with some tax thing in my work to buy a bike and save some tax…I don’t really understand it but it sounds like the right thing to do.

http://www.cyclescheme.co.uk/

And while we’re on the topic of savings etc..here’s an interesting link to calculate whether you spend more or less than the average…..

http://hatmandu.net/content/spending.htm

Mine was weird cos I spend thousands on flights but nothing on food!!

Anyway, back to the budget. I’m getting worried about how one dimensional the UK media is getting. Who cares about the 50p tax rate. If you earn that much you should be glad. I laughed so much tonight when I heard all the talking heads on about going back on a 20 year old agreement. These are the same people who turn on me when I write asking them about 3 year old promises on education and transport saying that in this fast moving environment nothing can stay still!

And then there’s the brain drain and the tax avoidance. Let them go. We need to build a consensus on values and culture and shared goals. If you’re not up for it…go somewhere else….it’s still a free country???

Talking to folk at work the other day about the health service and they were moaning saying we need to modernise (code for what?)

And then one of them tells a tale about going to the PDSA with an injured cat and the vet not looking at it until a credit card had been handed over….I’m not sure they made the link!

Leave a Reply

