Here Comes the Summer

In a vain attempt to scare away the weather I started playing my favourite “summertime music”….Dodgy “Staying out for the Summer”, The Undertones mentioned in the title, Sunshine in Leith…blah blah blah….then I read about my cousin’s band gettings a lot of hits with a tennis themed tune “Goran Ivanisevic”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BVUBxcwWkA

And then I’m back to Half Man Half Biscuit who had a song called Outbreak Of Vitas Gerulaitas back in the day (1991).

Talking of the “Biscuits”….the song “Everything’s AOR” had a great line in it. ” I can put a tennis raquet up against my face and pretend that I’m Kendo Nagasaki” from the same album in 1991. Two tennis themed songs in the year that Michael Stich won his only title:-

Anyone under 40 know who Kendo Nagasaki is?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=px6MDcz4Xv8

Shit video ..good lyrics!

And then there’s the Tour de France….anymore rain and I’ll be an experet on synchronised swimming by August!

 

Leave a Reply

