New Year Walk

yesterday looking for ideas for things to do this year. A golf trip to Arran was one idea. I really fancy another long distance walk. I think I’ll do the Great Glen Walk, 80 miles from Fort William to Inverness, hopefully a nice mix of isolation, fresh air and relaxing food and drink.

http://www.greatglenway.com/

But meantime I headed for my annual New Year walk in Springburn Park….77 acres of our very own isolation in the North of Glasgow.

http://www.glasgow.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=5491

It was brilliant. I hardly met a soul. I fed the ducks, wandered up to the highest point in Glasgow and had a seat overlooking the muddy mess that is all that remains of the old tennis courts.

In some ways it is a terrible shame that the park isn’t busier. I’d prefer to see the swing park full of kids and the cricket pitch being used…but there you go.

So, getting hungry and heading for home I come to the inner city dilemma ….McDonalds or KFC????

I wandered down past 42 Viewpoint. The highest flats in Glasgow!! Don’t let me hear about Red Road. They are the tallest flats. 22 and 42 Viewpoint are built on the highest ground in Glasgow. so being the 10th tallest building in Glasgow + built on the highest ground = HIGHEST.

http://ukhousing.wikia.com/wiki/Balgrayhill

So there’s your fact for the day. One day I’ll need to deal with the “oldest pub in glasgow” question!

And finally, heres’ a link to a wee film about the old men’s club in springburn park. It seems that years ago every park had such a club where older guys would hang out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DrgPpISaRk

Maybe I should start one for all my old retired pals…(you know who you are!!)

Happy New Year

 

2 Comments »

  1. steve forrest said

    Us retired folks are the rich ones now no need of old pavillions for we are at gym,swimming ,fancy golf clubhouses but I do like a game of doms.why notdo some genealogy ?

    • garyurquhart said

      Hi Steve, I quite fancy the family history thing…need to speak to my Auntie Rita who’s done a wee bit of it already.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

