A Twisted Time of Wrongs?

I was upset to read about the aftermath of the Ohio Rape Case in America.

It appeared that the victim was “blamed” by her peers and suffered further.

http://news.sky.com/story/1066529/ohio-rape-case-teen-girls-threaten-victim

I read some of so called “social media” comments and was disturbed that young people were taking this approach. And it was “young” people. They were mostly citing the failures of other high school and college friends in being too “wasted” or “drunk”.

I could not connect at all with their views. In my youth it was a badge of honour to look after your friends and make sure they were safe. And it was even a more admirable thing to look after a stranger and get them home safely.

I proudly tell the story about the only time I’ve ever been in a lap dancing bar; when it was the only place still serving alcohol and I’d missed my last pint by spending the time looking after a drunk at a bus stop!!!  There’s a moral there…..somewhere.

I used to think I got that idea from my good religious upbringing…but I now realise that was wrong…it was just my good upbringing.

The way these kids in America speak  comes ultimately from the influences around them. The politicians, the media etc. What chance have they got?

This was brought home to me when I reflected on some of the stuff I’ve read over these last few years of grievance and envy in the UK.

What about our disgraced Cardinal O’Brien? Who remembers his comments about abortion and Dunblane?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/6706743.stm

Not very helpful. What was he trying to say? I’m still not sure.

It’s a dangerous route to take that people need to moderate their own behaviour to avoid tempting others to break the laws of the land. I better make sure I don’t flash my vintage Nokia 3310 phone about the town in case I tempt some heartless individual to mug me for such a delightful possession!

Leave a Reply

