The Labour Party in Scotland v Workfare?

These good folk don’t seem to know whether to stick or twist. On the one hand we are all “better together” then on the other hand we praise how our Scottish authorities will deal in a caring and senstive manner on “The Bedroom Tax”.

For my own part i’m looking for responsible politicians. I’m uncomfortable when any politician uses sarcastic and unhelpful language. When the guy Gove changed policy recently after a campaign by teachers in England it was quoted as “humiliating climbdown” by his political enemies. Why not give him some credit for listening?

I am no defender of a Tory government but the last decade has given us great access to the information process and we should use it responsibly.

Talking of responsibility. I’ve been inundated recently by e mails from the Labour Party about the “No” Campaign, Bedroom Tax, etc. On Tuesday night there was a big vote on legislation rushed through parliament relating to “Workfare”

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/workfare-ruled-illegal-court-appeal-1705844

This is very contentious.

I have not received a single word of comment or explanation from  my MP our the Labour Party. The reason I say this is that the majority of Labour MP’s abstained.

http://labourlist.org/

There were 40+ Labour MP’s who voted against. Well Done them!

There may be good reasons for the actions by Labour. I think we should be told. Sadly I think the reason the “party machine” supported abstentions is that Labour in government would not be any better!!

When I get a minute I’ll be asking the Glasgow MP’s, Bain, Sarwar, Curran.

Leave a Reply

