Archive for June, 2014

Commonwealth Games: Free Stuff

The best way to get us involved is to appeal to the “Scottish Purse”.

This means free stuff!!

Next month we have the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. It might make the poor souls locked out of their houses or stranded in their shops to know that there is a lot of other stuff going on:-

Here’s a wee list of FREE music during the Games:-

Thursday, July 24: The Parsonage Choir (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/the-parsonage-choir
Friday, July 25: The Cinnamon Girls (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/the-cinnamon-girls
Friday, July 25: Celtic Connections at Glasgow Green (Glasgow Green) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/celtic-connections-at-glasgow-green
Friday, July 25: The Shiverin’ Sheiks (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/the-shiverin-sheiks
Saturday. July 26: Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/roddy-hart-the-lonesome-fire
Saturday. July 26: James Yorkston (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/james-yorkston
Saturday. July 26: Lake Of Stars (Glasgow Green) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/lake-of-stars-at-festival-2014
Monday, July 28: The Starry Skies (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/the-starry-skies
Tuesday, July 29: Rachel Sermanni with the Cairn String Quartet (Glasgow Green)
http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/rachel-sermanni-with-the-cairn-string-quartet
Tuesday, July 29: RSNO: Classical Gala performing music from ET, Superman, Jurassic Park, Harry Potter and with Rachel Sermanni (Glasgow Green) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/rsno-classical-gala
Thursday, July 31: From Scotland With Love (King Creosote) (Glasgow Green) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/from-scotland-with-love
Thursday, July 31: Horse (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/horse
Friday, August 1: Remember Remember (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/remember-remember
Saturday, August 2: James Grant (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/james-grant
Saturday, August 2: Willie Campbell (Kelvingrove Bandstand)
http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/willie-campbell
Saturday, August 2: Monica Queen (Kelvingrove Bandstand) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/monica-queen
August 2-3: East End Social presents Glasgow Mix Tape featuring Lloyd Cole, Admiral Fallow, Edwyn Collins, The Phantom Band, The Bluebells, Errors, The Amphetameanies, Penman Jazzmen (Glasgow Green) http://www.glasgow2014.com/culture/event/glasgow-mix-tape

As well as these events at Glasgow Green and the Kelvingrove Bandstand there is a host of events on at the BBC at the Quay:-

http://www.bbc.co.uk/events/rgzj3d

These are the usual “Free” but you need to apply.

But let’s not take away from the main events: The Marathon on Sunday July 27th and the Bike Race on Sunday 3rd August will be great “FREE” days out!

Not forgetting the Triathlon at Strathclyde Park on the 24th July.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment